Off to Michaela

Right then.  First blog.  Better make it good.  Interesting, amusing, piercing (as opposed to “interesting amusing piercing”).  Not too self-aggrandizing.  Not too clever-clever.  (Better delete that punctuation-based gag later.)  Not too many brackets. Oh.

I’m off to Michaela on Tuesday and I’m really looking forward to it.  From what I’ve read and heard, I don’t think my school and Michaela have very much in common, bar being in London.  Different intake, different approach.  Equally, instinctively I don’t think I like the Michaela Way; much of “Battle Hymns” caused me to suck my teeth.  So why go?

Partly, I admit, it’s to see what all the fuss is about.  As well as the book I’ve read the press, the blogs, the twitter debates.  I know that Michaela raises strong opinions and I’d like to see for myself.  In a way, then, I’m rubbernecking.  I’m not proud but it’s true.

More to the point, though, I need to see if I’m right.  My current view is that I wouldn’t want to be in a school like that.  But I’m yet to see a post-visit blog that doesn’t praise the school to the skies.  The teachers themselves are massively enthusiastic (@jo_facer is tweeting proof but they all seem similarly fired up, as far as I can tell).  The Head is nothing if not a strong leader with very clear views on what to do and how to do it (and I can definitely tell that).  They are very obviously on to something.

I’ve spent a lot of time in the last few months thinking about my approach to teaching and school organisation.  I’ve no doubt that Tuesday’s visit will develop that.  I’m prepared to have my views changed; I’m hoping to have to do some serious thinking; I’m expecting a fascinating visit.

If you’re lucky, I’ll blog about it.

Leave a Reply

